Style Selector
Layout Style
Boxed Background Patterns
Boxed Background Images
Color Scheme
Tuesdays through Saturdays, 10am to 4pmJoin & Give

Committees are the life blood of any non-profit organization. The Monroe County History Center has many working committees that include a combination of Board members, Advisory Council members, and volunteers. If you are interested in joining any of our committees, we’d love to have you. Contact the Director and we’ll get in touch with you.

Current 2023 Committees

African American History

Works with the staff and Director to research and highlight the history of African Americans in Monroe County. 

Committee Members:  Hattie Johnson – Chair; Dellsie Boddie, Geoff Bradley, and Kamala Brown

Staff: Gabby Krieble, Assistant Curator

Building and Grounds

Works with the Director and Office Manager to maintain and improve the building, grounds, and environment.

Committee Members: Scott Emery, Sandi MacDonald, Dave Musgrave, and Steve Rolfe 

Staff: Justin Robertson, Office Manager, and Hilary Fleck, Curator


Locates, coordinates and preserves cemeteries in Monroe County.

Committee Members: Scott Emery – Chair, Carol Seaman, Alexis Pruitt, Ellyn Pruitt, Amber Reyes, Lou Malcomb

Staff: Megan MacDonald, Library Manager

Collections and Exhibits

Works with the Collections, Exhibit and Research Library Managers to maintain collections and to prepare exhibits. The committee responsibilities include accepting, deaccessioning and approving policies governing artifacts and approving exhibits and the exhibit schedule.

Committee Members: Cheryl Munson – Chair, Sue Ellen Bowman, Michael Carter, Gayle Cook, Mary Lee Deckard, Linda Forshee, Mary Ellen Kerber, Nancy Kryway, Allison Lendman, Kathy McFall, Kelly Richardson, and Linda Stafford.

Staff: Hilary Fleck, Curator and Gabby Kreible, Assistant Curator


Assists in coordinating educational, in-house and outreach programming to reach multi-generational audiences and adhere to Indiana academic standards when appropriate.

Committee Members: Jennifer Borland, Fred Dunn, Stacey Miller, Cheryl Munson, and Glenda Murray.

Staff: Andrea Hadsell, Education Manager.


Works with managing director to plan the budget, review income and expenses regularly and offers investment recommendations to the Board.

Committee Members: Dave Musgrave – Chair, Lee Ehman, Kurt Jourdan, Abby Mitchell, and Scott Faris.

Staff: Daniel Schlegel, Director.


Researches grant opportunities, writes grant proposals and monitors grant activities.

Committee Members: Phil Stafford – Chair, Scott Faris, Jim Capshew

Staff: Daniel Schlegel, Director and Hilary Fleck, Curator


Works with the Research Library Manager to maintain and improve the library’s collection of primary and secondary source materials.

Committee Members: Charles Aiken, Lee Ehman, David Lemon, Michael Maben, and Kelly Richardson.

Staff: Megan MacDonald, Library Manager.


Appointed by the President four months prior to the April Annual Meeting to prepare a slate of officers and board members to present at the Annual Meeting. The committee is active in recruiting new board members and officers.

Staff: Daniel Schlegel, Director.

Monroe County Hall of Fame

Reviews nominations, researches, and presents inductees for the Monroe County Hall of Fame.

Committee Members: David Lemon – Chair, Larry Hensley, Jim Murphy, Linda Williamson, Bob Zaltsberg, Jolene Wright, Michael Carter, David McCrea

Staff: Daniel Schlegel, Director


Determines staffing needs, recommends personnel policies and revisions to the Board and establishes compensation and benefits.

Committee Members: Kerma Murray – Chair, Jen Borland, Joyce Jewell, and Dave Musgrave.

Staff: Daniel Schlegel, Director

Sports History

Researches, tracks and develops connections between current sporting events and their historical past. Emphasizes unique sporting time-periods and athletes important to Monroe County history.

Committee Members: Roger Robison – Chair, Charles Aiken, Michael Carter, Fred Dunn, Andy Graham, Marshall Goss, Kurt Jourdan, Rex Kirts, Ev Lafollette, Alan Sommers, and Martha Street.

Staff: Hilary Fleck, Curator and Gabby Krieble, Assistant Curator.