Museum Hours: Tues-Sat 10am-4pm    (812) 332-2517COVID-19 Updates


A note from our President:

Jen Borland shares her passion for history with others during programs – like the commemorative march for the Indiana Women’s Suffrage Centennial!

We are blessed to have such an amazing staff at the History Center but we couldn’t do what we do without the dedicated service of countless volunteers–including our very dedicated Trustees, who meet regularly to oversee History Center operations and finances. Together, with volunteers who help as greeters, fundraisers, researchers/writers, building caretakers, and those who assist with special programs and projects, we are helping to preserve our local history and we love sharing our passion for the past with others. Please feel free to contact me or Susan Dyar if you have an interest in serving on our board, or recommendations on how we can better serve the history-related needs of our community.


  • President: Phil Stafford
  • Vice-President: Scott Loman
  • Treasurer: Vickie Fry
  • Secretary: Jennifer Borland
  • Associate Secretary: Michael Flory

The 2020 pandemic did not slow the MCHC Board of Trustees as they met over Zoom.


Fred Dunn

Rosalind Gertsman

Charles Aiken

Michael Carter

David McCrea

Lois DeHoof

Bob Hammel

Sue Ellen Bowman

Donald Griffin, Jr.

Jennifer Moore

Mike Cornman

Kelly Richardson

Betty Bridgwaters

Kurt Jourdan

Teresa Hull

Cheryl Munson

Scott Faris

Scott Emery

STRATEGIC PLAN (2018-2022)

In 2018, the Board of Trustees created a four-year strategic plan to address the Monroe County History Center’s commitment to its community.

2018-2022 MCHC Strategic Plan


Ron Baldwin (00)

Carol Seaman (03)

James Kryway (03)

Kay Beth Harrell (03)

Gayle Cook (04)

Lee Ehman (04)

Judy McClary (05)

Rachel Peden McCarty (07)

DeAnna Bassett (09)

Allison Lendman (09)

Julian Livingston (09)

Marilyn Skirvin (10)

Dan Fierst (11)

Susan Ferentinos (11)

Bob Ralston (12)

Liz Knapp (12)

Steve Rolfe (12)

Lou Malcomb (13)

Judie Iverson (14)

Joyce Poling (15)

Liesl Loudermilk (17)

Lee Dodge (18)

Dean McElhiney (19)

Kathy McFall (19)

Kris Yoho (19)

Linda Forshee (20)

Elizabeth Mitchell (20)

Ellyn Pruitt (20)

Janet Stavropoulos (20)

Linda Williamson (20)

Kelly Kish (21)

Sue Sgambelluri (21)