Museum Hours: Tues-Sat 10am-4pm    (812) 332-2517JOIN & GIVE

A Brief History of 221 E. Kirkwood

On January 3, 1946, the Ellettsville Journal announced that the Greene and Harrell Funeral Home had opened on Kirkwood Avenue in the former home of Frank Wooley.  The owners were Orville Greene, president and general manager, and Robert M. Harrell, vice president and assistant manager.  Both owners had many years of experience in the funeral business.  Mr. Greene was connected with the Arthur Day Funeral Home for 20 years and Mr. Harrell was employed there for 16 years.

Frank and Angie Wooley, variously spelled Woolley, had lived at 221 E. Kirkwood from 1900 or earlier through the death of Frank in 1923, the remarriage of Angie, his widow, to Marion D. Miller in 1927, and her death in 1940.  Frank was in the insurance business for a number of years and later was made secretary of the Building and Loan Association.  After the death of Angie, the home was used as a retail establishment.

Greene and Harrell remained at 221 E. Kirkwood through the early 1970s.  Since that time the building, now known as Victoria Towers, has been commercially used by several businesses simultaneously and continues in use today.

Post submitted by Randi Richardson (Library Volunteer)

Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

X
X
X